Raise Up Intercessors

Lord, raise up intercessors! How great is the temptation for Your people to follow the ways of this world, to spend time not in prayer but in self-seeking pleasures and entertainments, in social media, in things that only entice and stir up the flesh. Oh Lord, how we have reaped what we have sown! How can we complain of spiritual dryness and lack of power when we fail to come to You? You wait and long to be gracious to us, and You desire to give us all spiritual blessings in Christ Jesus. Would we believe and take faith in You, Lord, and always come to You with unceasing prayer in the Spirit, with unceasing praise for this privilege!

I have been utterly selfish, oh Lord. Forgive and lead me. Lead me into deeper death to self. I was tempted to go back to the world today. I was tempted to love the former idols of my life. Oh Lord, take me away. Strengthen Your grace in me that I will not love them!

Give me discernment that I may know when I start to walk astray. Take all thoughts captive. I tremble at being deceived by the Enemy. Let me always fall at the feet of Your cross, ever beseeching You for daily grace. Let me never rejoice or glory in worldly things! To be friends with the world is to be at enmity with You. Let me always rejoice in You. You are worthy of it.

How great is Your Love! More love, oh Lord, more love to You. Let this life be lived and spent for You, joyfully. Let my affections be set upon You. Let Your Will be my delight. There is nothing on earth that I desire besides You. Let this be true, completely true each and every moment. Then, shall I intercede powerfully and seek what is heavenly, storing up treasures in heaven.

“Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. For all that is in the world—the desires of the flesh and the desires of the eyes and pride of life—is not from the Father but is from the world. And the world is passing away along with its desires, but whoever does the will of God abides forever.” (1 John 2:15-17)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

