Note #33

For I want you to know, brothers and sisters, that the gospel that was proclaimed by me is not of human origin; for I did not receive it from a human source, nor was I taught it, but I received it through a revelation of Jesus Christ. (Galatians 1:11-12)

 

The gospel Paul proclaims is a gospel that is not of human origin. It is not a gospel that he received from another man. It was not something that he learned through his intellect or reason. No, the gospel was received by a revelation of Jesus Christ.

Revelation in the Greek means to “take off the cover” of something.

The image that comes to my mind is that of a veil covering our eyes which is suddenly taken off.

 

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

