Note #7 – Lose

I have come to love losing. Not that losing is itself good but it enables me to gain Christ.

To gain Christ is to gain His humility, His love, His patience, His Holiness, His grace, His mercies, His compassion, His submission to the Father….

To lose all is to gain all.

For when I make myself into nothing, He becomes everything. When I am nothing, I will be able to give my cloak in addition to my tunic to the one who sues me. When I am nothing and God is everything, the Sermon of the Mount is natural for me to live out.

When I cease to strive with my own strength, I become like a child once again in my faith. It becomes easy to cry out for God’s love, His mercies, His strength and to praise Him and look on Him with adoration and awe. When I cannot rely on any gains I made, I come to rely solely upon the finished work of Christ, to the glory of the Father’s Name.

 

For truly, I am indeed nothing without Christ. How the Holy Spirit has opened my eyes to such a reality!

Thus, when I abide in Him, I see how everything is a gift. If everything is a gift and I am simply a steward, will I take for granted all the things I have? Will I dare covet things that I do not have?

Yes, I still do. My natural self loves to try to revive itself. May my rebukes come upon it more heavily and more frequently, by the power of the Spirit. May my soul be vigilant and watchful in prayer.

When I know, that reality is simply to be in Christ, and that outside of Christ I am nothing, my heart becomes extremely prayerful, grateful, joyful, content, at peace. By knowing, I mean, my whole being knows. Yes, even my body becomes at peace and relaxed. For it is the Spirit that enables, that dominates, that rules over me then.

Thus, I love reminding myself constantly throughout the day, especially in temptation and trials and hardships, I am nothing because God is everything to me. It is thus that I rejoice in my persecution, in my sufferings, in my losses, in my pain, in my struggles! May I never afford the flesh an opportunity to live!

If the desires in me are His, I will pray fervently for them to be granted. If not, the Holy Spirit will restrain me and oppose me. May I know more of His sweet Will and obey!

“I will celebrate before the LORD. I will become even more undignified than this, and I will be humiliated in my own eyes.” (2 Samuel 6:21-22)

Keep asking God to do this:

“For this reason, since the day we heard about you, we have not stopped praying for you and asking God to fill you with the knowledge of his will through all spiritual wisdom and understanding. And we pray this in order that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and may please him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God, being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience, and joyfully giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of the saints in the kingdom of light.” (Colossians 1:9-12)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

