The Last Hour

29This is what I mean, brothers: the appointed time has grown very short. From now on, let those who have wives live as though they had none, 30and those who mourn as though they were not mourning, and those who rejoice as though they were not rejoicing, and those who buy as though they had no goods, 31and those who deal with the world as though they had no dealings with it. Forthe present form of this world is passing away. (1 Corinthians 7:29-31)

After finishing a major paper and submitting it barely on time today (praise God for His mercies and for enabling me to finish), I felt free of all pressure for a few moments. Then, my heart sank. Indeed, immediately after my little self began to have some regard for having accomplish this little deed, my spirit brought to my attention the above verse and rebuked me, highlighting this phrase: “For the present form of this world is passing away”… regard yourself as having accomplished nothing. The dealings you had with the world is passing away. This paper, is useless if it were not for His Will. You have done nothing apart from Him.”

Why is my heart so far away from desiring Him? Why is it so quick to turn to self-glorification?! A little yeast leavens the whole batch so do not ever excuse yourself and leave even a small amount of pride in your heart hidden from the Spirit! I say this not just as an exhortation but as a great warning! How much grace we daily need from Him! If it were not for grace, I would have fallen away a long time ago!

So, I lament and I cannot help it, brothers and sisters! The Spirit lives in my spirit and moves through me, teaching me what is right from what is wrong.

Can I really say to Him, alas, I have given my all to You, when I skipped my devotions to Him this morning in order to finish this paper? And even if I did do my devotions, how often do I do it with the right heart? How often do I actually devote myself to seeking His face? How little my heart desires to stay with Him. How weak and in need of grace I am!

Is there any pride left in me? There should not be even one particle, yet there is much pride within me! How His light reveals the ugliest things!

Nevertheless, my spirit delights in His light.

Do not think that this is a grumble for this has been an answer to my daily prayer for His light! To know He rebukes me is great encouragement to me that He loves me, for His rebukes are gentle and they show me once again that the Holy One of Israel is awesome and He lives in me! How greatly in awe I am! How inadequate I feel! How amazing this grace is!

Can anything remind me of His grace more strongly than His light? Yes, His light judges the heart, but it also reveals His glory! One cannot see even a small part of His Glory without being judged.

How He sanctifies me with His presence and allows my heart to love Him and to delight in Him so!

15 Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. 16For all that is in the world— the desires of the flesh and the desires of the eyes and pride in possessions—is not from the Father but is from the world. 17And the world is passing away along with its desires, but whoever does the will of God abides forever. 18Children, it is the last hour, and as you have heard that antichrist is coming, so now many antichrists have come. Therefore we know that it is the last hour.  (1 John 2:15-18)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

